Back to School

Hey folks.

This is a blog for the spring 2009 University of Washington Museology course on Social Technology, taught by me, Nina Simon.  This is a multi-author blog that will feature the hard work of lots of theoretically amazing students. I hope you will tune in, add your comments and insights, and help us all learn.

As you may know, I have some reservations about the value of museum graduate programs.  I get nervous that they don’t a. prepare students for real jobs and b. encourage them to be crazy, imaginative beings.  I am confronting these fears with the Social Technology course by a. requiring each student to do an individual project that is “high value” from a job prospect perspective and b. focusing on a truly crazy group project.

We’ll see how it goes.

