Another book review

Here Comes Everybody
Here Comes Everybody is a terrific primer on social media that encompasses a variety of case studies including Wikipedia, Digg, Twitter, Flickr, Facebook, Meetup, Myspace, Youtube, Blogger, and other technologies that have developed to help users organize, connect, and expand their communities through interacting in new ways around social objects. The author, Clay Shirky, uses a few examples that look at how users of social media have used those tools to challenge the establishment (digital campaign that led to policy changes in airline industry) and to disseminate information – i.e. cell phone photos of the London subway bombing in the aftermath of the event.

Reading Shirky’s book made me realize a couple of things. People use social technology in the way that makes sense to their own needs – mostly from what I can tell to typically network and expand their spheres of connection. I don’t think that there is any “wrong” (or right) way to use social technology, but I realize that I do not use these tools (nor do I have a true interest in using certain tools) to their fullest social capacity. I am a lazy lazy tagger, and have only recently gotten into the habit of labeling flickr photos and blog posts, now that I have an understanding of how user-generated content gets aggregated and organized on the world wide web.

The readings for our social tech class have helped me get a stronger grasp of the whole web 2.0 thing, but I am also really interested in finding ways to be simultaneously less connected (in terms of time spent in the virtual world) and more effectively connected – this is perhaps informed by a desire to be more of the body, than the mind. At the Tricycle Magazine site, I recently came across a book called Wisdom 2.0 by Soren Gordhamer. Gordhamer consults on living with less stress and more effectiveness in technology-rich lives. Read an excerpt here.

